The World Taekwondo Federation is the International Federation [IF] governing the sport of Taekwondo and is a member of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations [ASOIF]. The WTF recognizes national Taekwondo governing bodies recognized by the NOC in the pertinent country, one in each country, as its members.

  Established _ May 28, 1973
  Location _ 7148-4, Taepyeong-dong, Sujeong-gu, Seongnam, Gyeonggi-do, Korea 461-855
  President _ Dr. Chungwon CHOUE [re-elected on April. 12, 2005 / Oct. 13, 2009]
  Secretary General _ Mr. Jean-Marie Ayer
  Member Nations _ As of October. 22, 2012
Regional Unions Number of Member Nations
Asian Taekwondo Union [ATU]
European Taekwondo Union [ETU]
Pan American Taekwondo Union [PATU]
African Taekwondo Union [AFTU]
Oceania Taekwondo Union [OTU]
Total 204


  Affiliation to GAISF _ October 8, 1975
  IOC Recognition _ July 17, 1980 [83rd IOC Session in Moscow]
  Olympic Games Demonstration Sport _ 1988 Seoul Olympic Games & 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games
  Official Olympic Sport: Sydney 2000 Olympic Games _ September 4, 1994 [103rd IOC Session in Paris]
  Confirmation of Taekwondo as an Official Sport for Athens 2004 Olympic Games _
December 11-13, 2000 [IOC EB Meeting in Lausanne]
  Expansion of Taekwondo quota at Athens 2004 Olympic Games to 124 in eight weight
categories, respective four weight classes for men and women _
Sep. 18-20, 2001
[IOC EB Meeting in Lausanne]

IOC Executive Board decided the number of sports programs of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games to be 27, including Taekwondo. The 114th IOC Session held in Mexico City, Mexico on November 29, 2002 also confirmed inclusion of Taekwondo in the Bejing 2008 Olympic Games.


IOC reviewed the Olympic programme for 2012 London, Taekwondo was voted to retain in the Olympic Programme of the London 2012 Olympic Games at its 117th Session in Singapore on July 8, 2005.